Devotional one: Forgiveness

Mandy was coming into the kitchen as her mother was making dinner. She grabbed an apple from the fruit basket and dashed outside into the warm sunny evening. Her little sister, Eleanor, was sitting on a blanket in the grass, playing with something. Mandy couldn’t quit make out what it was, but it looked something like–No! My camera! Mandy thought in horror. This special Canon camera was a birthday present from her big brother in college, Wesley. She treasured it, and never allowed anyone to touch it– that is, unless someone took it while she was gone. She quickened her pace and marched angrily over to her sister. “Ellie!” she spurted out. “What are you doing with my camera?!” Ellie looked up, face flushed. “I-I” She stammered,” Well, I wanted to take some pictures. I didn’t think you would mind.” Mandy still glared at her. Ellie quickly thrust the camera at Mandy. “I’m really sorry I took it, Mandy. I know I shouldn’t have- now. Will you forgive me?” Mandy didn’t answer, but grabbed the camera and spun around, munching her apple as she barged into the house. “What was that all about, Mandy?” Her mother asked. Mandy knew it was no good to try to keep it from her parents. She spoke in frustration to her mother, repeating the event that had recently occurred. Her mother spoke in a gentle tone,” Mandy, I know exactly how you feel. I had a lot of problems with that when I was growing up, and I still have sometimes when my little children will wreck my things. I have to remember this though; we should treat others as we ought to be treated and in the Bible, Peter asks Jesus,”Lord, how often will my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? As many as seven times?” Jesus answered,”I do not say to you seven times, but seventy times seven.” So you see, dear, Jesus isn’t saying that we should only forgive our brother 490 times, but we should be continually forgiving one another, just as Christ forgave us. Do you understand?”

“Uh, huh,” she answered. Mandy knew what she had to do. She thanked her mother, and ran outside again. She spotted Ellie, swinging on their backyard swing. She took a deep breath and went forward to her sister. Lord, please forgive me for not being like you. Help me to control my temper. Her sister looked up. “Hi Mandy!” Mandy started,” Ellie, I’m so sorry for getting mad at you for playing with my camera. I know you would never wreck it. I shouldn’t be so protective. Will you forgive me?” Ellie brightened and said,”Of course, Mandy Pandy! Will you forgive me?” “Of course, Ellie, Mellie!” They both grinned and hugged eachother, then Mandy pushed Ellie on the swing.

Leave a Reply

