Devotional four: Obedience

14-year old Jemma Riley ran a brush through her silky brown hair. She threw her favorite snowman sweater over top of her t-shirt. She looked outside. It was just starting to snow. After looking outside from her window for a few more minutes, she ran downstairs to go outside. Jemma was putting on her boots when her mother called out,”Jemma! Come and peel some potatoes for dinner please!” Jemma sighed and pulled of her one boot she had on. She grudgingly made her way to the kitchen where the potatoes awaited. She found the peeler in Β the utensil drawer and started peeling the potatoes. “How many potatoes do I have to do, Mom?” Jemma asked. “The whole bag,” her mother replied.Β The whole bag! Seriously?! That’s gonna take me forever!Β Jemma thought in horror. “Mom! Really? Can’t I only do like, half? Potatoes are a form of starch, and you know Dad is on a diet.” Her mother sighed. “Jemma, please listen to me. I asked you to do the whole bag, period. Do it for me right now please.” “Fine!” Jemma said angrily. She peeled the potatoes furiously. Once she finished peeling and cutting the potatoes, she plopped them in a pot with water, and turned on the stove. She spun on her heel and marched out of the kitchen. “Thank you, Jemma!” her mother called. “Your welcome,” Jemma muttered. She slammed the door of her room and slumped on her beanbag. She thrust her head in her hands and started crying. “Why do I always have to get angry and complain! It’s so frustrating! I want to be like Jesus, but it’s so hard sometimes!” Just then her mother knocked,” Jemma, are you alright? You weren’t very happy and cheerful downstairs. By the way you slammed your door, I can tell something is wrong. What’s up?” “Oh, Mom, I’m sorry! I was disobedient and not obeying you like I should have! I was frustrated because I want to be like Jesus, but it’s so hard! Please forgive me!” “Of course, I forgive you, honey! I understand that it’s hard to be obedient, but let me share with you this verse: “Children, obey your parents, for this pleases the Lord. It’s from Colossians 3:20. If you want to obey God, you also should obey your parents.” Her mother gave her a hug and kissed her on the cheek. “Dinner is ready, sweetheart,” Then she left the room. Once she was gone, Jemma closed her eyes and prayed, asking God to forgive her, and to help her be more like Him. She also thanked Him for her wonderful parents, and how she was thankful He died for her.

“Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. Honor your father and mother, which is the first commandment with a promise.” //-Ephesians 6:1-2

6 thoughts on “Devotional four: Obedience

Leave a Reply

