Devotional five-Gossiping

“Hey Stacy!” Alexis called. “Are you ready for school?” Stacy Reinhart was Alexis’s best friend. They both attended Rockford Christian School. Stacy jogged over to Alexis. “Yup! Guess what? Mom packed me a baloney sandwich. Isn’t that gross?” Alexis grinned at Stacy’s disgust toward a sandwich. “I actually like baloney, Stace.” Stacy scoffed, then chattered on.

Once they reached school, their first class was Arithmetic. Alexis groaned. She disliked Arithmetic. Ms. Adams taught it and made it seem boring. After class, they had science. This was Stacy’s favorite subject- Alexis’s least favorite.

Soon, it was lunch. Stacy and Alexis gathered at a table with some friends, Mandie, Lili, and Grace. As they were munching, Lili leaned in close. “Hey, guess what? I heard from Mark Jones that Jason Myers flunked on a spelling test.” Mandie giggled. “Really? I heard that from Jason thatย Mark flunked a math test.”

“Both could be true, ” Stacy piped up. “I heard the same rumors.” Grace swallowed her chip and smiled mischievously. “Did you know that Tracy is colorblind and she drools?” Alexis frowned as everyone kept on bringing up new rumors and gossiping about them.

Once school was over, Alexis and Stacy rode home on the school bus together. Alexis was silent. Stacy was reading a book. She flipped a page as Alexis spoke. “Stacy? How many of those rumors do you think were true?” Stacy shrugged, absorbed in her book. She looked up. “They were facts, Lexie. Not rumors.” Alexis looked out of the window. “I don’t know about that, Stace. I know for a fact that those rumors got around and a lot of people were hurt by them, especially Tracy. She has enough problems already.” Stacy just shrugged again. “It’s not my fault they got around.” Alexis frowned. “Stacy, those “facts” hurt the people who you were gossiping about. How would you like it if your colorblindness and whatever else were talked about and gossiped through the school?”
Stacy seemed to be considering it. “I guess I wouldn’t like it very much.”

“Stacy. I’m not going to preach at you, but I’m going to remind you of a verse we learned. Remember it? It says,’Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.’ Do you see?”

Stacy grew embarrassed. “Oh. I didn’t think. I’ll apologize to the people I hurt tomorrow. Especially Tracy. Maybe I can invite her over to my house. Thanks for reminding me, Lexie.”

1 Thessalonians 4:11

“And to aspire to live quietly, and to mind your own affairs, and to work with your hands, as we instructed you.”

 

4 thoughts on “Devotional five-Gossiping

Leave a Reply

